NOTD: My attempt at Chalkboard Nails Dorothy from the Wizard of Oz & Tutorial

When I first saw Sarah from Chalkboard Nails “Dorothy from the Wizard of Oz” Mani I was instantly smitten with her beautiful combo of a gingham print and the glittery red accent nails! I’ve been a huge fan of Sarah for the longest time. Not only are her nail art designs are always so flawless and creative, she is always very nice and supportive to other nail art lovers. I actually wanted to attempt this particular design of hers when I first saw it on her blog last year but honestly was intimidated by the freehand gingham lines. My first attempt didn’t give her design any justice so I scrapped it and practiced free handing the gingham lines for a week and tadddaa! I’m pretty happy with the outcome!I This nail art is perfect for summer and picnics! This is just my rendition of her design. I made a quick photo step by step tutorial below. Hope it is helpful!

Image

Imagedorothy

PS- Being ambidextrous is a bonus I can do both hands yay!

FYI I did a jelly sandwich to achieve my “ruby red slippers” accent nails. First applied a coat of the Sally Hansen’s Red Carpet and then a coat of Spoiled’s Ants in My Pants. Top it with another coat of Red Carpet to “sandwich” the glitters in. Here’s a couple closer looks of the polishes and also of my jelly mani accent nails. . .

antsinmypants macro

This is Spoiled’s Ants in my Pants

red carpet macro

This is a Sally Hansen’s Xtreme Wear Red Carpet

jelly macrojelly macro2

~xoxo B

11 thoughts on “NOTD: My attempt at Chalkboard Nails Dorothy from the Wizard of Oz & Tutorial

Leave a Reply

