Throwback Mani: Cut Out Neon Heart

I totally forgot about this cut out neon heart mani I  did over a year ago which I had shared on my Instagram. I was reminded of it when I recently found out that it was featured on HelloGiggles for a Nails Of The Day feature. I guess I must have missed that post because I absolutely love browsing around on Hello Giggles! Anyways, I noticed a person commented and asked there how I achieved this look and that another person replied with a method but that actually wasn’t the way I personally achieved the cutout look.  Read below for details on how I achieved my cutout nails back then!

throwback header

throwback cutout

First, I applied a clear base. I then applied neon pink on the nails that wouldn’t have a cut out heart. I actually drew a heart outline with a nail art brush with the neon yellow polish I used on my thumb and accent finger. I  painted around the neon yellow outline as a guideline with the rest of the neon yellow. I then outlined the heart again with a black nail art pen. I did the rest of the nails by applying hot pink polish and then dotted with hair bobby pin straightened out. I can’t remember the exact colors I used but I am pretty sure I used the neons from the China Glaze Neon collection 2012. Please excuse the horribly dry cuticles and smeared outline. I don’t think I waited long enough before putting on topcoat! I think I should do this design again to compare my cut out skills now as opposed to over a year ago! And a bonus its a cute look appropriate now for summer!

~xoxo B

Leave a Reply

